Oakland Symphony Free Concerts

Oakland Symphony Free ConcertsPiedmont Grocery is saddened to hear of the passing of Michael Morgan, Music Director and Conductor of the Oakland Symphony. He was a tremendous asset to our city and he will be missed. We can celebrate his contributions to the culture of Oakland by attending one of the remaining Brooklyn Basin free summer concerts.

SummerStage free Concerts at Brooklyn Basin
Pick up a delectable assortment of prepared foods and fine beverages from Rocky’s Market and relax in the open air with friends at the Brooklyn Basin. Then, for your first concert after too long a pause, hear your Oakland Symphony perform live and in person.

Stirring Serenades
Thursday, September 2nd at 6:30 PM
John Kendall Bailey, conductor
Shawnette Sulker, soprano

The Wind Serenade of Dvořák offers a delightful, delicious breeze. Mozart’s magical Wind Serenade will sparkle. And Villa-Lobos’s intoxicating Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5 seduces when sung by Shawnette Sulker.

Heitor Villa-Lobos: Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5 (Movements 1 and 2)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Serenade for Winds in C minor, K. 388
Antonín Dvorak: Serenade for Winds in D minor, Op. 44

Summer Finale
Thursday, September 9the at 6:30 PM
Bryan Nies, conductor
Deborah Kramer, bassoon

This summer under the stars concludes with the First Symphony of the 15-year-old Felix Mendelssohn and the enchanting Bassoon Concerto of the 18-year-old Mozart, with the Orchestra’s Deborah Kramer. It’s a precocious conclusion to the Oakland Symphony’s first summer season!

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Concerto for Bassoon and Orchestra in B-flat, K. 186e
Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 11

9th Avenue Terminal located at 288 9th Avenue in Downtown Oakland

Visit the Oakland Symphony website for more information.
And, you can read about Michael Morgan here.

Comments are closed.